Monday, 7 May 2012

Jelajah Malaysia ready to roll

Mehdi Sohrabi, last years winner

Michael Torckler of the Pure Black racing team is cautious of his chances for the Jelajah Malaysia 2012 when it begins tomorrow where he said that there are several teams able to hinder his dream of back to back wins.

The New Zealander had just captured the overall crown in the inaugural Tour de Borneo last week and where he will be making his maiden appearance in Malaysia’s oldest cycling races series on 8-13 May 2012.

“It will not be easy for sure as the other teams will be wary of us and with several credible teams like Aisan (racing team) and also RTS (Racing team) here, they will make things hard,” said the 25-year-old.

“The route suits us being mostly flat and with a handful of sprinters in the team, we are prepared for any eventualities.”
“We have several domestique who will work for the team and we are well prepared for the sprint at the end.”
CCN Cycling Team (BRUNEI Continental Team)
Pure Black Racing Team (NEW ZEALAND Club)

The Jejalah Malaysia this year begins with the team presentation this afternoon which was witnessed by Datuk Azizan Nordin, the deputy director general of the Ministry of Tourism, Maniam Manikkan, the chairman of the Jelajah Malaysia 2012 as well as Datuk Naim Mohamad, the chief organising committee of the Jelajah Malaysia 2012.

While Torckler plays it cautious, local hope Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG) is preparing for the early attacks. Mohd Hariff Salleh said that considering the flat terrain this year, all the teams will be out to stamp their presence by going for the early attacks.

“We have to be prepared for the early attacks. I believe that will be the plan for most of the teams here,” added Hariff.

Stage One of the Jelajah Malaysia 2012 will begin tomorrow from the Merdeka Stadium to Bandar Baru Kampar in Perak. The longest stage of the tour this year will take place in Stage Two from Kampar to Kulim in Kedah for a total distance of 201.8km. It is significantly shorter than last year’s longest stage at 222.5km.

Stage Three will see the peloton heading close to the Malaysia-Thailand border in Chuping in Perlis before Stage Four, a short 98.5km ride from Kangar to Sungai Petani in Kedah. From here, the race will head south to Ipoh in Perak for Stage Five just before the final race to the finish.

Stage Six will see a frantic finish in the second longest stage – a 199km ride from Ipoh to Dataran Merdeka.


Genesys Wealth Adviser (AUSTRALIA Continental team)
Aisan Racing Team (JAPAN Continental Team)
RTS Racing Team (TAIWAN Cont
Suren Uzbekistan Team (UZBEKISTAN Con
Terengganu Cycling Team (MALAYSIA Con
Kazakhstan Cycling Federation (KAZAKHSTAN National Team)
Putra Perjuangan (INDONESIA Club)
Team LBC Cycling (PHILIPPINES Club)
Polygon Sweet Nice (INDONESIA Club)
Kedah (MALAYSIA State)
Kuala Lumpur (MALAYSIA State)
Negeri Sembilan (MALAYSIA State)
Pahang (MALAYSIA State)
Selangor (MALAYSIA State)
Terengganu (MALAYSIA State)
Royal Malaysian Police (MALAYSIA Club)
Malaysia Armed Forces (MALAYSIA Club)
Malaysian Development Team (MALAYSIA Club)


STAGE ONE (8 May 2012) – Stadium Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur to Bandar Baru Kampar, Perak (161.5km)

STAGE TWO (9 May 2012) - Bandar Baru Kampar, Perak to Kulim, Kedah (201.8km)

STAGE THREE (10 May 2012) – Kulim, Kedah to Felda Chuping, Perlis (168.8km)

STAGE FOUR (11 May 2012) – Kangar, Perlis to Sungai Petani, Kedah (98.5km)

STAGE FIVE (12 May 2012) - Sungai Petani, Kedah to Ipoh, Perak (193.4km)

STAGE SIX (13 May 2012) – Ipoh, Perak to Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur (199.5km)